South Shore Communities
South Shore Communities
South Shore Communities
 |  Area Lake Levels:  Bull Shoals Lake  |  Lake Norfork    

Higher Education in the South Shore Area

College students may begin their higher education at one of four nearby colleges. Arkansas State University Mountain Home is a branch campus of Arkansas State University, and North Arkansas College at Harrison is a two-year community-technical college. Ozarka College, another two-year community-technical college, is in Melbourne.  College of the Ozarks at Point Lookout, Missouri, 75 miles north, offers four-year degrees on a unique work-study basis.

Arkansas State University Mountain Home

A new campus of Arkansas State University opened Spring 2000 in Mountain Home. Enrollment at the two-year institution is approximately 1200 students. First and second year university courses are offered, as well as associate degrees in arts, science and applied science, transfer degrees and some upper division and graduate courses. For more information, contact:

Chancellor Ed Coulter
Arkansas State University Mountain Home
1600 S. College Street
Mountain Home, AR 72653

North Arkansas College

North Arkansas College is a two-year community and technical college at Harrison. It offers associate degrees in arts and sciences, business technology and electronics, and college study programs in technical and career fields. Enrollment is approximately 1,800 students. For more information contact: 

Dr. Jackie Elliott, President
North Arkansas College
1515 Pioneer Drive
Harrison, AR 72601

Ozarka College

Founded in 1973 as a vocational-technical school, the school officially became Ozarka College in 1996. In addition to regular classes, students also learn using compressed video or taking a course over the Internet.  Ozarka also has transfer agreements in place with four-year colleges and universities throughout the state, allowing students in the Associate of Arts program to transfer easily. For more information, contact: 

Dr. Richard L. Dawe, President
Ozarka College
218 College Drive
Melbourne, AR 72556

The College of the Ozarks

The College of the Ozarks is a four-year college at Point Lookout, Mo. Its 1,500 students receive a four-year liberal arts education in a Christian environment, and are provided the opportunity to work in lieu of paying tuition. There are 31 majors offered in the divisions of Education and Health, Human and Social Sciences, Math and Natural Sciences, Performing and Professional Arts, and Technical and Applied Sciences. Studies leading to certificate programs and pre-professional credentials are also offered. For more information contact:

Office of Public Relations
College of the Ozarks
Point Lookout, MO 65726

Arkansas Association of Two-Year Colleges
Access Arkansas

Access to College Courses for Every Student Statewide Distance Learning

Other Arkansas Colleges and Universities - Public and Private

 Arkansas State University
 Arkansas Tech University  
 Crowley's Ridge College
 Harding University
Henderson State University
 Hendrix College
 John Brown University
 Lyon College
 Ouachita Baptist University
 Southern Arkansas University Tech
 University of Arkansas
 University of Arkansas at Little Rock
 University of Arkansas at Monticello
 University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
 University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
 University of Central Arkansas
 University of the Ozarks
 Williams Baptist College

More Useful Links



Area Accommodations
Calendar of Events
Economic Development Links
Health Care
Higher Education
History and Genealogy
Labor Statistics and Census
Quick Facts

Tax Rates: Income, Real Estate
and Personal

Other Community Links

Ozark Sites
South Shore Communities:

Bull Shoals
Diamond City
Lead Hill


Neighboring South Shore Communities:

Calico Rock
Lake Norfork

Mountain Home

Local Businesses Online

Development Information Network of Arkansas
© All rights reserved.
Information for this site has been gathered from several sources. This site is updated
frequently; however, please contact the Chamber of Commerce or City Hall to obtain
the most current information.

South Shore was founded by and is fully supported by NATCO (Northern Arkansas Telephone Company).

NATCO Communications
South Shore
Change Request  
South Shore Founded and Funded by NATCO Communications, Inc.